Other Tertiary Providers


Polytechnics and Institutes of Technology

There are 16 institutes of technology and polytechnics located across New Zealand. Institutes of Technology generally focus on providing a hands-on, practical education, offering vocational certificates and diplomas in both general and specialised areas of study.

Many of these polytechnics or institutes of technology also offer undergraduate degrees, in fields such as business, computer science, IT, and science. Some even offer select postgraduate programmes, often through a partnership with a local university.

Smaller, more hands-on classes making work ready graduates

Polytechnic classes are often smaller and more personal which suits some students. The courses offered usually come with a much bigger hands-on and practical component that university courses. If you ‘learn by doing’ rather than by theory alone, a polytechnic course could be just right for you.

These practical courses and learning styles work for employers too, making graduates much more ‘work-ready’ than many university grads as they often come along with some practical work experience and specific skills the industry is wanting.

Mergers designed with you in mind

Recently the government announced that all Polytechnics will be merged by April 1 2020 under the name the New Zealand Institute of Skills and Technology.  The changes are designed to “give industry greater control over all aspects of vocational education and training, making the system more responsive to employers’ needs and to the changing world of work”.   You can read more about the merger here.

The merger promises better performance, better spending and ultimately, better opportunities for their customers, which is you.

Explore NZ’s 16 Polytechnics and Institutes of Technology

Ara Institute of Canterbury (ARA)

Eastern Institute of Technology (Hawkes Bay) (EIT)

Manukau Institute of Technology (MIT)

Nelson Marlborough Institute of Technology (NMIT)


Otago Polytechnic

Southern Institute of Technology (SIT)

Tai Poutini Polytechnic

The Open Polytechnic of New Zealand

Toi Ohomai Institute of Technology


UCOL – Universal College of Learning 

Weltec – Wellington Institute of Technology 

Whitireia Community Polytechnic

Wintec – Waikato Institute of Technology 

WITT – Western Institute of Technology at Taranaki